Category Archives: News

IJA lauds Maharashtra Govt. bill to protect media

Shri Devendra Fadnavis,
Hon’ble Chief Minister,
Government of Maharashtra

Respected Shri Devendra Fadnavisji,

We, the Indian Journalists Association (IJA), the premier organization
of media persons in West Bengal which was established in 1922,
congratulate you for moving a Bill in the Maharashtra Assembly and
getting it passed unanimously to protect the media persons and media
houses from attack.

Thus Maharashtra has become the first State in the country to enact a
Bill to protect journalists by passing the landmark Maharashtra
Mediapersons and Media Institutions Bill on April 7, 2017.

3rd May, 2017

Executive Council of the Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.) for 2017

The following were elected unopposed to the Executive Council of the Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.) for 2017 at the AGM held at Press Club on March 26, 2017.
President: Sekhar Sengupta (Dainik Statesman)
General Secretary: Anindya Sengupta (Freelance)
Executive Council:
1. Debasish Das (Dainik Statesman) 2. Mrinal Kr. Biswas (The Echo of India), 3. Tarakeshwar Mishra (Prabhat Khabar), 4. Shyamal Mukherjee (The Political and Business Daily), 5. Tapas Ghosh (The Telegraph), 6. Tarak Nath Roy (Purbakshan), 7. Aminur Rahaman (Sambad), 8.Jagannath Bhowmick (Sambad Prabhati), 9. Jayanta Dutta (Aaj Kaal Parshu), 10. Purnendu Chakraborti (Dainik Statesman), 11. Debashish Chowdhury {Munmun} (Aamar Kagaz), 12. Tapash Kr. Basu (Halfil), 13. Aditya Narayan Choudhury (Khabar Aaj Kaal), 14. Kamlesh Pandey (Sanmarg), 15. Supriyo Bandopadhya (Sambad Pratidin), 16. K. D. Parth (Rajasthan Patrika), 17. Rabin Chatterjee (Srijoni Samay), 18. Kazi Elahi (C.T.V.N.), 19. Sudipta Sengupta (Aajkaal), 20. Joyprakash Das (Ekdin), 21. S. Saba Nayakan.

4th April, 2017

Massacre of Newspersons

Massacre of Newspersons

Dusts have not settled yet. The sacking and firing of hired hands in the Fourth Estate are not coming to an end. Everybody there is a sacrificial lamb. The noble profession of journalism has turned into a hotbed of intrigues, fear, suspicion and a sense of helplessness has gripped almost all in the desk and on the field. The journalists are pushed on the firing line by the power that be, by the Press Barons.


The premier organization in the East, Ananda Bazar (ABP) Group, has already given marching orders to unknown numbers of scribes. It is feared that a total of 760 employees there would see the end of journey because the management feels that the organization has become too flabby and a trimming operation is inescapable. Result: terminate the employees. Already some 250 of them has suffered with early retirement or just given the lethal marching orders.

27th March, 2017

IJA agm on March 26, 2017 at Press Club, Kolkata

AGM notice 2016

IJA agm notice 2017

14th March, 2017

Contact numbers of EC members – 2016

Sekhar Sengupta 9836664211
Anindya Sengupta 9830278273
Mihir Ganguly 9432208532
Mrinal K. Biswas 8335839009
Tarakeswar Mishra 9831918555
Shyamal Mukherjee 9433740850
Tapas Ghosh 9433229701
Barun Ghosh 9830511450
Arijit Dutta 9830199365
Debashis Das 9434180373
Tarak Nath Roy 9434225244
Joy Prakash Das 7602565146
Aminur Rahaman 9832268043
Sambhu Lal Karmakar 9434238495
Chandra Mitra Shee 9433069001
Kamlesh Pandey 9831550640
Tapesh Kr. Basu 9051146204
Aditya Narayan Choudhury 8101408732
Kazi Fazle Elahi 9831160992
Shymal Kumar Naskar 9748921148
Sikha Deb 9903842641
Jayanta Das 9851510746
Rajib Chakraborty 9339434371
S. Sabanayakan 9830152292
Supriyo Bandopadhyay 9831254542
Pallab Kumar Chatterjee 9830929753
Debasish Choudhury 9434243373
Mohammad Wajid 9239127294

2nd June, 2016

Office-bearers of the Indian Journalists’ Association for 2016 elected at the first Executive Council meeting

The following are the office-bearers of the Indian Journalists’
Association for 2016 elected at the first Executive Council meeting at
Press Club, Kolkata, on 20.03.2016 at 1 p.m.

President: Sekhar Sengupta (Dainik Statesman)

Vice-Presidents: 1. Shymal Mukherjee (Prayag), 2. Tarak Nath Roy (Purbakshan)

General Secretary: Anindya Sengupta (The Telegraph)

Secretary: Debashis Das (Dainik Statesman)

Asstt. Secretaries: 1. Kamlesh Pandey (Sanmarg), 2. Arijit Dutta (AIR)

Treasurer: Tapas Ghosh (The Telegraph)

2nd June, 2016

Executive Council of Indian Journalists’ Association at the Annual General Meeting held on 20th March 2016.

The following members were elected to the Executive Council of Indian
Journalists’ Association at the Annual General Meeting held on 20th
March 2016.

President: Sekhar Sengupta (Dainik Statesman)

General Secretary: Anindya Sengupta (The Telegraph)


1. Mihir Ganguly (Freelance), 2. Mrinal K. Biswas (The Echo of India),
3. Tarakeswar Mishra (Prabhat Khabar), 4. Shymal Mukherjee (Prayag),
5. Tapas Ghosh (The Telegraph), 6. Barun Ghosh (The Telegraph), 7.
Arijit Dutta (AIR), 8. Debasis Das (Dainik Statesman), 9. Tarak Nath
Roy (Purbakshan), 10. Joy Prakash Das (Ekdin), 11. Aminur Rahaman
(Sambad), 12. Sambhu Lal Karmakar (Samayer Bhir), 13. Chandra Mitra
Shee (Dainik Statesman), 14. Kamlesh Pandey (Sanmarg), 15. Tapesh Kr.
Basu (Halfil), 16. Aditya Narayan Choudhury (Khabor Aaj Kaal Parshu),
17. Kazi Fazle Elahi (CTVN), 18. Shymal Kumar Naskar (Lokmanash), 19.
Sikha Deb (Bikeler Pratidin), 20. Jayanta Das (Seema Rekha), 21. Rajib
Chakraborty (Dainik Statesman).

The following members were coopted as per EC meeting held on 20th March 2016.

1. S. Sabanayakan (The Hindu), 2. Supriyo Bandopadhyay (Sambad
Pratidin), 3. Pallab Kumar Chatterjee (Bartaman), 4. Debasish
Choudhury (Amar Kagaj), 5. Mohammad Wajid (Aabshar).

2nd June, 2016

IJA statement on insurance cover for journalists

Mr. S. Sabanayakan, President, IJA, and Mr. Sekhar Sengupta, General Secretary, IJA, have issued the following statement on Feb. 18, 2016:

Indian Journalists’ Association (IJA), has welcomed the State Government’s decision to give health insurance cover to accredited journalists upto the age of 65 years. IJA thank the Chief Minister, Ms. Mamata Banerjee, for this decision.

However, the CM is requested to widen the insurance cover to all categories of genuine journalists who have to toil hard in unusual hours to produce newspapers and transmit news through electronic media.

These journalists cannot be left out from any government benefits proposed by the State Government.

20th February, 2016

Executive Council decisions on December 26, 2015

The Executive Council, with President, S. Sabanayakan in the chair, met at the IJA Office on Saturday, December 26, 2015, and took the following decisions:

1. An eye camp will be held at the Press Club on Sunday, January 10, 2016 from 10 am. Susrut Eye Foundation will provide a comprehensive eye check-up to members.

31st December, 2015

Executive Council meeting

An Executive Council meeting of the IJA will be held at the IJA office on Saturday, Dec. 26, 2015, at 1 pm. All EC members and invitees are requested to attend the meeting without fail.

Sekhar Sengupta
General Secretary

22nd December, 2015
All Rights Reserved.