Pranab Mukherjee at IJA function More »

IJA President S. Sabanayakan (centre) presenting a memento to Hon’ble Minister of Development, Western Region, Government of West Bengal, Dr. Sukumar Hansda, at the inaugural ceremony. IJA General Secretary, Sekhar Sengupta (left) watches on More »




Former president of IJA, Dilip Ghosh Chowdhury, passed away

Former president of Indian Journalists’ Association (IJA),  Dilip Ghosh Chowdhury, passed away on Tuesday, 12 March after a prolonged illness. He was 78 and survived by his wife and daughter.
He worked in New Age, Kalantar, Sambad Pratidin and Pravat Khabar.
Ghosh Chowdhury, among many assignments, covered the 1971 Bangladesh Liberation war extensively.
IJA deeply condoled the demise of Ghosh Chowdhury whose contribution was immense.

14th March, 2018

IJA letter to PCI Chairman


9th March, 2018

Guidelines to journalists welfare scheme

19 Journalists Welfare Scheme of Central Govt

9th March, 2018

IJA health camp concludes

A health camp, organised by IJA, for the benefit of its members and fellow journalists, at Press Club, Kolkata, on Sunday drew good response.
AMRI Hospitals came forward to organise the camp where journalists were put through general checkup, eye checkup and ECG.
Among the distinguished guests were Rajya Sabha M.P. Manish Gupta, West Bengal State Cooperative Housing Federation chairman, Asish Chakraborty, social worker Nishit Chakraborty and veteran trade union leader Ashok Ghosh.
In his speech, Mr. Gupta praised IJA’s effort to organise the health camp and promised to extend help in future.
Interim general secretary, Debasish Das, welcomed the guests and president, Sekhar Sengupta, proposed a vote of thanks.
Rajya Sabha M.P. Manish Gupta (centre) was the chief guest at a health camp organised by IJA at Press Club, Kolkata, on Sunday. Others on the dais (from left) are IJA president, Sekhar Sengupta, social worker Nishit Chakraborty, veteran journalist Mihir Ganguly and vice-president Shyamal Mukherjee.
Asish Chakraborty, West Bengal Stage Cooperative Housing Federation chairman (centre), special guest at the IJA-organised health camp at Press Club, Kolkata, on Sunday, delivering his speech. Others in the picture are (from left) former IJA president S. Sabanayakan, Mihir Ganguly, Mrinal Biswas and veteran trade union leader Ashok Ghosh.
 IJA vice-president from Bardhaman, Tarak Nath Roy, undergoing ECG test
Chief guest Manish Gupta speaking on the occasion of health camp
Special guest Asish Chakraborty’s eyes are being examined by an optometrist

24th February, 2018

Press Council on Massacre of Newspersons

Press Council of India (P.C.I.) acts as the guardian of the country’s newspaper world. It is in the fitness of things that P.C.I. has taken note of the recent time indiscriminate removal of newspersons by some established media houses belonging to the print media.
After receiving a note on “Massacre of newspersons”, provided by Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.), P.C.I.  has adopted a resolution on this disturbing subject.
P.C.I. has, however, duly acknowledged the receipt of the note sent to the august body by I.J.A. President, Sekhar Sengupta. The full text of the P.C.I. communication to I.J.A. is given below:


1st August, 2017

Journalists take out a procession on May 24, 2017

Journalists take out a procession on May 24, 2017, condemning the unprovoked police lathi charge on May 22.The peaceful rally began from
Press Club, Kolkata,where many journalists’ organizations, including the IJA, participated. Pix: Bibhash Lodh.


PSX_20170524_211411_new PSX_20170524_211627_new PSX_20170524_211822_new

26th May, 2017

Journalists can never be put on uniforms

Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.) outright rejects the patently absurd jacket-wearing-by-journalists proposal. Nowhere in the  world, except in war fields, the power that be can ever think of forcing journalists to put on outfits to mark them out.
Because informants with any kind of uniforms can be arbitrarily barricaded, prevented from the very sources of information where they move in instinctively and rightfully. They do not only have the right but their honourable duty to access the sources of information, fairly and freely.
The State Police is strongly urged to discard the jacket idea forthwith. Instead they owe to the media the punitive measures taken against police perpetrators of attack on journalists.
Sekhar Sengupta

26th May, 2017

IJA condemns attack on media

Kolkata media took to street on Tuesday, May 23, to protest against unprovoked lathi charge by Police on Monday, May 22 while covering a public rally by a political party. Scores of photo journalists, camerapersons and reporters were injured in the incident which was severely condemned in a statement by IJA President, Sekhar Sengupta. Pix: Bibhash Lodh.





24th May, 2017

IJA lauds Maharashtra Govt. bill to protect media

Shri Devendra Fadnavis,
Hon’ble Chief Minister,
Government of Maharashtra

Respected Shri Devendra Fadnavisji,

We, the Indian Journalists Association (IJA), the premier organization
of media persons in West Bengal which was established in 1922,
congratulate you for moving a Bill in the Maharashtra Assembly and
getting it passed unanimously to protect the media persons and media
houses from attack.

Thus Maharashtra has become the first State in the country to enact a
Bill to protect journalists by passing the landmark Maharashtra
Mediapersons and Media Institutions Bill on April 7, 2017.

3rd May, 2017

Executive Council of the Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.) for 2017

The following were elected unopposed to the Executive Council of the Indian Journalists’ Association (I.J.A.) for 2017 at the AGM held at Press Club on March 26, 2017.
President: Sekhar Sengupta (Dainik Statesman)
General Secretary: Anindya Sengupta (Freelance)
Executive Council:
1. Debasish Das (Dainik Statesman) 2. Mrinal Kr. Biswas (The Echo of India), 3. Tarakeshwar Mishra (Prabhat Khabar), 4. Shyamal Mukherjee (The Political and Business Daily), 5. Tapas Ghosh (The Telegraph), 6. Tarak Nath Roy (Purbakshan), 7. Aminur Rahaman (Sambad), 8.Jagannath Bhowmick (Sambad Prabhati), 9. Jayanta Dutta (Aaj Kaal Parshu), 10. Purnendu Chakraborti (Dainik Statesman), 11. Debashish Chowdhury {Munmun} (Aamar Kagaz), 12. Tapash Kr. Basu (Halfil), 13. Aditya Narayan Choudhury (Khabar Aaj Kaal), 14. Kamlesh Pandey (Sanmarg), 15. Supriyo Bandopadhya (Sambad Pratidin), 16. K. D. Parth (Rajasthan Patrika), 17. Rabin Chatterjee (Srijoni Samay), 18. Kazi Elahi (C.T.V.N.), 19. Sudipta Sengupta (Aajkaal), 20. Joyprakash Das (Ekdin), 21. S. Saba Nayakan.

4th April, 2017

Photo Gallery View All Photos >>

All Rights Reserved.